Express it 2 live it

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The red Tunisia!

on January 15, 2011

 

I am one of the majority ignorant people in the world who hate politics, do not believe in change, do not know most of the ministers, stopped following history since history has ever started and just love to spoil myself in the luxury of my sofa, AC drinking hot chocolate may be and just watching TV.

I remember in my childhood I was attracted much to demonstrations but never participated in one. I enjoyed rhymes of freedom and equality and blindly sang them. However, my personality did not go along much with these useless long term needed for change causes. So, I have shifted to the arts and literature world where all dreams come true in one’s own head!

However, I am a new starting writer who has got to keep pace with breaking news and try to inflame magical words to grab more readers to my area and get myself more published.

And, this is how it started. 29 days ago, I noticed Ms. Mona Al Tahawy’s page filled with Tunis news including demonstrations, committing suicide trials, internet block, twitter news feed, 60 dead people, police fighting the mass with weapons and finally a coup d’état!

Well, this is huge!

Tunisia which has been always referred to as green Tunisia for its beautiful landscape has turned into a bloody stained country. For some activists, this is not for the bad or the negative; those dead are martyrs who paid the price tag of freedom!

For me, as a not much politically interested person still, that was a source of rich information. I now knew that Zain Al Abeden is – excuse me was – Tunisia monarch for over than 23 years. like all Arab monarchs (if they excuse me or not), he was a main source of corruption, domination and suppression.

It has all started when Mohamed Buoaziz burned himself after police prevented him from selling fruits and vegetables – mind that he has no other way to seek living! And, that was the stark that fired people. All went out projecting to their past surrendering submissive way of life. Suddenly, the seeds of courage grew in the hearts and they went out to say “no, this is enough”.

I am no activist actually to say that I support the uprising so that it can encourage other Arab countries spell out their monarchs. I am no poor, suppressed person to seek to demonstrate. I am not also intending to get glued to Al Jazira or the BBC to follow up the Tunisian breaking news. It will only delight me to know who else was elected president and whether the atmospheres move into stability.

I am here writing as a human being who pities the young unemployed, the poor and the needy. I am a human who believes that green Tunisia has implanted long extinct seeds of courage, collectivity and mass power. I am a human being who loves and supports instability for the cause of stability! Go Tunis, go!

 

2 responses to “The red Tunisia!

  1. I love how you ended it!

    “I am here writing as a human being who pities the young unemployed, the poor and the needy. I am a human who believes that green Tunisia has implanted long extinct seeds of courage, collectivity and mass power. I am a human being who loves and supports instability for the cause of stability! Go Tunis, go!”

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

