Express it 2 live it

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Egyptian political psychology

on February 4, 2011

 

I have never been into politics, and I do not think I will be very much into it in the future. But this time is like no time; I am an Egyptian who has lived a terrible great week. There is much contradiction in the feelings I have towards the revolt in Egypt. I do not know if I shall call it a revolution or an uprising like Mona Al Tahawy has before said, or a chaos and crisis like many media channels have spread. Previously, I was thinking of it as the revolution that has led into a crisis, but now the vision is much blurred.

30 years under the reign of President Hosni Mubarak, Egypt has lived. 25 years are the years that I have lived under his regime and leadership. I did not like the regime and was longing for a change even for the worse because I believed I have the right to choose and change the regime. I believed in democracy, however, I did not take any significant political step towards changing this. I was in despair, I thought that change is my right but it is not possible because we are in an oppressing regime. Yes, I am a youth that is the product of Mubarak’s regime.

However, these days, other youth that have developed a political conscious raised the revolution forgotten sign. Somehow they knew what they really want and discovered that change is at hand even if a bit far. I watched them like many others; having in my heart their enthusiasm and bearing in my mind my previous defeatist thoughts of oppression.

For one whole week, in which every minute  passes as an hour, we stayed watching these brave men; coming from all over the country bearing the cold, the starve, lack of communication, possibilities of death and so many risks that I cannot count. They made a change. I cannot call that “the change” because for some of them what happened is not their goal and is not what they seek! So they are still there with their braveness and courageous souls!

I might have the ability to understand those brave youth because I am one of them, passed through their same hardships. However, one thing is left and I could not understand; that is “why did I turn emotional when I heard President Hosni Mubarak?” I did not love him, so why am I now asking that we give him the rest of his days in our country as a hero while some call him a tyrant and a corrupted leader!

Here comes our Egyptianity (a term I am coining); this is the aspect that many people won’t understand all over the world! It is a fact that I did not watch President Mubarak as an American might watch Obama. In my conscious, I was not taught to treat him in a firm rigid manner; judging each and every corrupt order issued by him! I watched him as if my father! Yes, call me naïve, but I remember he is an 82 year old man, regardless of the fact that this does not count for me. It counts for me; he is dying and I was taught to have merci on the old! I watched his features that are very Egyptian and that resembles many dads I have! I did not think of the corruption, I did not think of the regime. I just cried like my 58 year old mom for the poor leader who wants to die in his country! This is called political naïve minds, I know. But I can assure that millions of Egyptians have this same mentality.

I know we will change this with time; we will develop a more shrewd political awareness, but not now, not in one week! What I am asking the anti-Mubarak protests for is to have mercy on us; poor ignorant naïve Egyptians. Give us some time, because whether you like it or not we have some emotional bond to our leaders even since Gamal Abdul Nasser! With Hosni Mubarak, this ends, he will be the last leader to whom Egyptians had conflicted minds and contradictory emotional feelings!

 

Leave a Reply

