Express it 2 live it

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Egypt: An Awakening People

on April 20, 2011

In Egypt, we have a proverb which goes “sleep is a sultan”, meaning that sleep is as powerful and dominating as monarchs (monarchs are rulers e.g. Heads of States, Kings, Queens, who rule until their deaths and then pass power down to family members) . I agree, it really is, for who can actually resist the pull of slumber? And who can deny the rest and delight of sleeping?

When I was young, I was locked in an eternal conflict with this basic human habit. God, I just could not resist sleep. Personally, I had to fight it as I tried to break its hold on me. I can remember days in high school when I missed studying because I couldn’t wake up early in the morning to do so. Truthfully, I was never able to put in enough study time during early morning hours as I would have liked to. Sleep would not let me. I even had the thought then that maybe my mattress had a devilish spell that attracted me.

I tried the alarm clock thing, but my response to it was always the same; whenever I heard it ring, I would yawn, contemplated whether or not I should arise for half an hour, and ended up spending several more hours in bed.

I wasn’t going to give up that easily, though. I was determined to fight it. My main goal was to get rid of my servitude to sleep. I wanted to conquer and vanquish this submissive status. Alarm clocks were going to be the weapons I recruited. I bought about seven of them and I started plotting:

Continue reading on http://www.duniamagazine.com/2011/03/egypt-an-awakening-people-2/

Leave a Reply

